Working on Stuff…

I’m not sure if I’m impatient or lazy. Come to think of it, is there much of a difference?

There’s a lot of things I want to do, perhaps too much, and the thought of spending time on a project that doesn’t go anywhere can be disheartening. So I guess I’m impatient, I want to see results quickly so I know that I’m on the right track, and that inability to motivate myself has often led me to falling back onto things that are easier to do, like watching tv, playing games or exploring the vastness that is the internet (…and failing to get further than youtube).

Take this blog for example – when I started it I wanted to post three times a week about Video Games, Tabletop Gaming and most important of all my Writing. It sounded simple enough. In practice though I can never decide which of these topics is the most important. Which one sells my blog? Do any?

So there my impatience kicked in and I spent more time mulling over this question, or ignoring it completely that I fear I’ve deviated greatly from my original intent. Whatever that might have been!

But I love to create stuff, and there’s just so much I want to do that I hate to limit myself, and choose one or the other. Sadly my fickle mind is more than willing to trick me into choosing two things at once or leapfrogging from one to the next in a mad dash to find something that sticks.

The temptation to move onto something new and shiny is always there, as well as the niggling doubt that my time is well spent. Couldn’t this time be better spent doing something more… productive?

So that’s what I’m trying to do now, be more productive, and much less fickle.

I’m currently working towards finishing my novel which I know is a long time coming, but every day I get 450 words closer to the finishing line. I’m also currently working on a game with my good friend Zuzana which is in the very, very early stages right now. I’ll post some pictures another day and explain more about it soon.

On the Tabletop side of things, I am heading down to the ExCel centre in London for Salute 2013 (the biggest wargaming convention in the UK) on saturday and I plan to take lots of photos and write all about it.

I’m also going to try and drop off a short story with the good folks at Mantic Games without looking like a blubbering idiot. What could go wrong? Wait, actually, don’t answer that.

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Working on Stuff…

  1. Judging Joe says:

    A lot of this hits a bit too close to home for me, especially the leaping from one project to another and the dangers of procrastination. That said, it sounds like you’ve made a lot of progress. I hope you can see how far you’ve come man!

    • Thanks for the comment, Joe, and the kind words. Unfortunately, it doesn’t often feel like progress. Many of the plans I had back then, I’ve had to change or abandon. It’s hard to envision where I’ll be going in the future and in many ways, I am just as confused as I was back then.

Leave a Reply

