Monthly Update: March 2013

So March is upon us and it’s finally getting warmer. Ish. For a change I can actually admit to knowing this first hand because I’ve been out in it. I’ve been to that strange otherworld where the real people supposedly live. It’s okay I guess.

Hey, do you remember that time I made loads of promises that didn’t come true?

Oxford_Street_December_2006So I fully admit I’ve been pretty unreliable of late. I can probably come up with a few excuses to explain away most of my failings, but the simple face is that I’ve failed to make the deadlines I set for myself on top of doing other stuff. The world is getting in the way, and I am increasingly envious of the more experienced bloggers who can keep this going without significant impact on their lives.

I swear I’m not just being lazy.

This month is going to be different though, not because I will guarantee everything as I have done so many times before, but rather because I won’t. Swamp of Phantoms is still in the works, and I’ll keep updating it from time to time. As with other posts I’ve spoken about. I’m not done with them yet, but I haven’t given up.

One good thing that has happened this year is that I’m now a part of a group that’s something of a cross between a writer’s group and a book club. I’m really enjoying the writing aspect thus far. It’s great to be around other people who write and finally get some feedback on my work.

Every week we set challenges, and thus far those challenges have created two short stories and a poem, all of which will find their way to the blog in the fullness of time.

It’s always interesting to see what people come up with, as well as what I can manage to do in the space of a week. I’ve come to the conclusion that I am no good at writing anything even remotely short.

In other news I’m now drawing to the end of my work experience placement (a nod towards today’s image, but not the full story) which has been going well. I’m not deluding myself into the belief that there’s a job waiting for me at the end of this, but it’s still one step closer to employment, which is so very important to me right now.

ANYWAY – that’s all for now. Thanks for reading, and sorry for breaking my promises. I hope to make good on them in future.

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

