Monthly Update: January 2013

So it finally happened. After all those centuries of predictions, prophecies and guestimations, it’s finally over. The Apocalypse has been and gone, and wow but it really was one of those “blink and you’ll miss it” affairs. What a show though. The way the sky lit up like fire, and hordes of daemons crawled out from great chasms in the ground. The way the spaceships descended over the capital cities of every country in the world. The giant asteroid. The zombie dancers putting an undead spin on Gangnam Style…

Apocalypse_vasnetsov

…except that didn’t happen. Gee thanks religion. Thanks Mayans. You guys really made it into this big thing with all that hype. It was like Dragon Age 2 all over again. Oh it’ll be great, you said, it’ll be world changing. Literally. Son, I am disappoint.

But I digress. We stand (or more likely sit) at the start of a new year, but before we get into that let’s have a look back at the one that’s just been. 2012 was a big year for me. Over the course of its twelve months I picked up a new hobby, began writing regularly, started a blog (you didn’t know?), participated in and won my first ever NaNoWriMo, and am currently sitting at over 111,000 words into my first real novel.

Last year was very good to me and I hope to always look back on it as the year that my life got back on course. There’s still a long way to go, but I’ve got goals now, and motivation. I fully intend to get the first draft of the Protectorate Novel finished over the course of January.

So what’s actually coming this month?

Well, it’s probably about time I got back on track with updates on this ‘ere blog o’ mine. I’ve neglected it for far too long. I’m planning on writing a lot more short stories this year, some set in the Protectorate, others set in Karinska, but I also want to branch out, to try new things and surprise myself. I feel like last year I didn’t quite capture the essence of what a good short story is. Namely the ‘short’ part.

Even though it has been quite some time since I updated it, I do still intend to finish off Swamp of Phantoms, and I will be posting an update to it this friday.

On the wargaming side of things I am very into Dreadball at the moment. I’ve glued together the box set, my Forge Fathers team, and two MVPs (Gorim Ironstone and Wildcard) and I’ll have a lot more to say about that in the not too distant future. There’s also a gargantuan update coming on the Hordes front, so stay tuned for that.

Not only that but I have other big plans for this year, and I want to share as much of that as I can. Don’t want to jinx anything yet though, so I’ll talk more about that later on.

Anyway, now that the apocalypse has been and gone and the world is still here, I’ve a lot more time on my hands. I’m going to have to get things done. Damnation indeed!

Oh… and Happy New Year!

PS. If you are wondering whether or not that image is actually a monthly mystery image referring to something that may or may not be explained later this month or if it’s actually just there to illustrate the whole apocalypse thing… continue.

 

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monthly Update: January 2013

  1. Pingback: Monthly Update: February 2013 | The Darkest Blog

Leave a Reply

