NaNoWriMo 2012: The Finale (& Words per Day)

Today is the 1st of December. It is, I checked. Well, in this country anyway. That means of course that National Novel Writing Month is now officially over, and no words written past this point will go towards that final total which is (error: drumroll.mp3 not found):

89,703 words!

Winner-180x180Almost 10k over my target, so nothing to feel too guilty about though I do kind of wish I could have pushed for a neater number, but events conspired to prevent that from happening. Not events of a negative nature, but it is as it is and I wouldn’t have done it differently.

As promised a while back I have listed my progress over the month. It’s not amazingly beautiful to look at but I’m sure you’ll forgive me that… you will, right? As a quick explanation for those that are confused, the numbers in the brackets are the words written that day. The numbers without are the running totals.

So as you can see at through the month I was already well on my way to the 80k goal, but in spite of that I couldn’t help but feel a bit disheartened upon reaching and overcoming the 50k goal as I think the next set of results will show. The fact is that even though I still had a way to go to my final goal I should have set that before day one. I almost had the illusion that NaNoWriMo was over for me, when really it was just beginning.

Sounds a bit silly to get sentimental about all this. Maybe it is, maybe it’s not. I’ve had a blast and spoken with some neat members of the community. I approached this entire thing with an air of scepticism but left with 90k words worth of a novel, vastly more than anything I have written before. So I can be nothing but grateful.

Well there you have it. On the 25th of November I met my 80k goal, validated and was officially a winner of 2012’s NaNoWriMo. That same night I went out to Tabletop Nation, in spite of some awful weather and slow trains, and bought my prize (the Mountain King, as you will see later on!). I think it is important to reward yourself for challenging yourself and I’m really looking forward to next year. Not sure if I’ll do 80k again, try for more, or lessen my expectations. It will depend on many factors, but either way I’ll probably be doing NaNoWriMo again (still hate the name though).

But that’s only 29 days I hear you cry. Well, not cry, and more than likely you didn’t even notice until now… oh okay, okay.

  • Day 30 – 89703 (0)

Are you happy now imaginary readers? No? You need an explanation? Damn you. Well on the 30th I went out to meet a long time friend who I met online but never in person. We spent an amazing day going around London and I ended up getting back quite late. I decided not to write, not only because it was nearing midnight, but because if I ever pushed myself to write instead of enjoying a day I would lose sight of what is important.

I say this a lot, perhaps too much, but I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished this year. So far I’ve broken out of my shell and I’ve met up with friends old and new, I have a social life again away from a computer and I’ve written almost 90k words of a novel that I fully intend to complete over the coming month. Oh and of course I started this blog.

So yeah, I’m pleased, and I hope you all are too. To those of you who reached your goals, congratulations! To those of you who didn’t, well done for taking part and at least giving it a try. To everyone I hope you will keep on with your writing and take some time to edit it before doing anything with it. I know I have a long way to go even after I’m done writing!

I’d love to hear other people’s NaNoWriMo stories, and if anyone wants feedback or a critical eye looking over their work send a message my way. My electronic door is always open. …sounded a bit weirder than I intended…

And of course as promised… a Mountain King approacheth!

 

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NaNoWriMo 2012: The Finale (& Words per Day)

  1. Pingback: Monthly Update: January 2013 | The Darkest Blog

Leave a Reply

