NaNoWriMo 2012: 80,000

You know what’s a good number? 80,000. There are at least two films with that number in their titles, 80,000 Suspects, a 1963 British film about smallpox and Electric Dragon 80,000 V, a 2001 Japanese film about electricity wielding super-heroes.

80,000 Hours is the name of an Oxford based careers advice service. 80,000 is also the designed capacity of the Grand Stade de Casablanca as well as the approximate number of Yemenis in the United Kingdom. The Mousteroid culture were formed some time after 80,000 BP.

But you don’t care about any of that do you? (okay maybe the Mousteroid thing…)

What you want to know is that as of today my word count is exactly:

80,942 words!

I did it! I finished my goal! 80,000 words in one month = complete! It’s hard to believe it’s finally here… but it is, and it feels so good.

For anyone interested the 80,000th word was “he”. Make of that what you will. I was planning to post a table to show my gradual progress this month, but I think I’ll hold that back until the 30th because frankly I want to keep going with this. I’ve still got energy to expend on this novel, and damn me if I’m not going to keep going until it’s done!

Currently I am at chapter fifteen, each chapter consisting of ten or more A4 pages. The word document currently consists of 163 pages, and the story is broken up into three segments thus far, labelled as the following: One: Argolyth, Two: The Reticent End, Three: Orcus Station. I believe there will be a fourth (and possibly a fifth) segment, but no more after that.

I also believe that it may take me half of December to finish this novel, but I will endeavour to continue albeit in shorter and more manageable chunks. Starting December 1st my required word count per day will drop drastically to 1000, though obviously I won’t stop myself if I’m on a roll.

The novel so far has turned out mostly how I expected, with a few minor alterations here and there. Nothing I have changed so far has had a sizable impact on or deviated too greatly from my initial plan, a fact I’m quite pleased about. There are more characters than expected, more twists and turns, but ultimately the story is still the one I set out to write.

I am mindful though that even when I finish writing this beast, my task will not be over. Editing won’t start straight away, I want to leave a month or two to recouperate and work on other, perhaps less strenuous writing before going back to turn what I’ve written from its current flawed state into something that shines.

I’m also not done posting about this yet, and I’ll keep updating here with my progression up until the end of November. I might reach 90,000 words by then, but the pressure is off and I can afford to take it slow. A friend has already suggested I push to 100,000 words, but I think that’s a goal for another year. I don’t want to put a goal on an existing goal and end up defeated by own ambition.

Anyway, I’m exhausted. I’m all written out. The story is just about reaching its most exciting part, what with the main villains finally being revealed and all of the cool and interesting characters finally appearing on the scene. It definitely feels like a story that pays off near the end, and I hope that when it comes to being published other people will enjoy it half as much as I’ve enjoyed writing it.

I’m going to sign off by saying once more saying good luck to everyone who is still or has participated in this event. No matter how many words you plan to write this month, 10k, 20k, 50k, 100k, good luck and congratulations for even trying. I hope everyone succeeds and does as well as they hope.

Thanks also to National Novel Writing Month, for giving me the insentive I needed to do this.

Fires have raged over Argolyth, the great void galleon The Reticent End has been home to mystery and intrigue and now the heroes gather on Orcus Station to prepare for the final showdown. There will be pain, there will be misery, the fate of an empire hangs in the balance. Will our heroes save the day, or is it already too late?

Old Earth is Dead, is the Protectorate soon to follow?

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NaNoWriMo 2012: 80,000

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 2012: The Finale (& Words per Day) | The Darkest Blog

Leave a Reply

