NaNoWriMo 2012: Two Updates for the Price of One!

I have been remiss, and I tend to use that word a lot because it’s a fun word to use. Remiss. Heh. But I have been, and for that I apologise profusely. Heh, profusely…

The last few days have been probably the most trying so far, there have been times when I have written very little, and seriously questioned whether it’s worth pressing on. This is why I haven’t been able to post much lately.

On the plus side on November 18 I crossed the 60k line with a total of:

61,900 words!

But I did say this would be two updates did I not? And seeing as how I’m done with the god-awful puns (they’re gone for good…ish) I feel no shame in announcing that as of today my wordcount is officially:

71,693 words!

Yes, that’s right, as of today I am onto the final sprint as it were to my personal goal of 80k words. What a long strange trip it’s been. There have been some truly inspiring days of writing where I’ve churned out word after word, and then other days where it’s been hard to get even the bare minimum, but never once have I allowed myself to falter below what was needed for that day. That’s something I feel very proud of.

Sure the prose isn’t amazing, and there were days where I wrote mindless nonsense that will no doubt be scrapped entirely, but who hasn’t had days like that? They’re harsh, and they make you feel terrible, but you have to push through them. The good days more than make up for it.

A lot has changed in the novel. A character that acted as a minor antagonist has been replaced with someone I feel is much closer to home. It didn’t feel forced, and in fact I think the story flows more smoothly this way. There’s definitely something to be said for letting a story write itself, though I won’t deny the hours of planning have also paid off.

What worries me a bit is that the story should really be drawing to a climax by now, or at the very least nearing the end-game. As it is I’ve only just managed to write in a hint about the main villains, and they won’t officially appear on the scene for another two or three chapters. Perhaps more.

It’s a little frightening, and a little exciting too to realise that at 70k words I’m still only halfway through this journey… but I’m committed now, and even if I cross the finish line before the end of November I’ll just keep going. Like how the Russians fought the Nazis invasion, I’m settling in for a long cold winter but I’m not giving up until the job is done.

In fact, in the words of the honourable Rick Astley:

Never gonna give you up
Never gonna let you down
Never gonna run around and desert you

Words to live by. On a completely unrelated note I was recently contacted by a professional film-maker the other day who took a look over my story in progress and asked me if I’d be willing to let him make a film adaptation of it. Obviously I said yes and even in such a short space of time he’s managed to make an amazing teaser trailer for it which you can check out here!

Well, it’s time to finish this post. The next time you see me I may well be on 80,000 words. To everyone else still participating in NaNoWriMo: good luck, and don’t give up!

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NaNoWriMo 2012: Two Updates for the Price of One!

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 2012: The Finale (& Words per Day) | The Darkest Blog

Leave a Reply

