NaNoWriMo 2012: 50,000 Words Can’t Be Wrong

Or can they? More straw grasping today as I struggle to find an image or bad reference to make regarding the number 50,000. Big thank you to wikipedia though, for giving me a chance to stea- borrow today’s entirely irrelevant image.

I have no idea who The Fall are, and I feel really quite bad about that. At least with the trains image I… well, I know what a train is.

This should perhaps be a bigger post, but I want to keep it low key. In one way it’s a celebration, but in another way it’s just another hurdle. I was certainly hit with a mixture of feelings as I reached a grand total of:

50,319 words!

Technically speaking NaNoWriMo is over for me. 50k is the target and I’ve hit it in half the time required. I’m actually writing this a day on, but I wanted to share this anyway and offer my thoughts and feelings about the future.

So back to that mixture of feelings thing. I have to admit I felt a bit melancholy as I passed 50,000. The 50,000th word was nothing spectacular, nor was the sentence it inhabited. There was no applause, no balloons and cake, but I still felt like something had drawn to a close.

You know that feeling you get when you rush through a book, reaching the end at such a pace that you’re surprised when it’s finally over and maybe a little disappointed? I feel a bit like that, which is weird because 50k was always too small a goal for my ambition.

I feel a bit isolated too, like I’m no longer part of the NaNoWriMo crowd. I’ve finished my obligations at a point where most (sane) people are just about halfway. Maybe also feeling proud of this achievement is rubbing it in somehow. I hope that’s not the case.

Then there’s the doubt about the road ahead. This is more like reading to the end of book one and realising you’ve still such a way to go. You enjoyed the journey, but the sheer distance yet to go is overwhelming.

Part of me feels like I can just sit this one out now. That’s the part of me I’m going to try and ignore. After all, 50,000 words in and my novel isn’t finished. It’s not even halfway through. Do I give up now because my commitment to this event is over? Or do I press on because actually I genuinely want to finish this novel?

I think the answer is staring me in the face. All I have to do is keep writing until the book is done.

Just another 30,000 words for this challenge.

And after that, who knows?

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NaNoWriMo 2012: 50,000 Words Can’t Be Wrong

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 2012: The Finale (& Words per Day) | The Darkest Blog

Leave a Reply

