NaNoWriMo 2012: Wordhammer 40,000

In the grim darkness of the far future there are only words!

I’m sure there are at least 401 centuries worth of puns I could get out of this one, but I think I’ll just skip to the chase.

Today I reached an important point in my writing marathon, or whatever you want to call this insane endeavour. Perhaps just call it writing? I mean, the thing I need to remember and constantly remind myself of is that even when I reach 50k, 80k, or hell even 90k if it goes that far (and it looks like it might) I need to be ready to keep up writing indefinitely from then on. Every day. Forever.

Daunting right? More on that later. For now, let’s just bask in the glow of:

40,322 words!

That’s 10k away from the final goal for NaNoWriMo, which I am predicted to hit in the next two days. I’d hate to prove them wrong, but at the same time I don’t want to overdo it or I’ll be setting myself up for a slap in the face once I get back to reality. More importantly it’s 50% of the way to my 80k goal, which means I’m still on track. Phew!

Now let’s talk about sustainability. NaNoWriMo gives me an opportunity to do a lot of things that I haven’t been doing before, one of the most obvious being that I’ll have officially written a novel by the end of it. OthersĀ  include self-motivation, and proving that I can in fact write up to a set amount of words every day. This is not to say that days won’t pass when that amount fluctuates, perhaps lower one day, higher the next (why stop if you’re on a roll right?), but I will still be writing every day.

So the good thing about NaNoWriMo is that I now know I could easily do just that. I can make the time and I get it done. Keep in mind though that I’m currently unemployed, so free time is something I have far too much of. Today I wrote over 5000 words. Can I honestly keep up that pace when I’m working full-time? Probably not.

I’d be setting myself up to fail if I thought otherwise and there’s nothing to be gained in that. As it is I also have something of an advantage writing this novel because I planned it meticulously in advance.

I’m probably over thinking this, but I never want to go back to not being a writer. To being someone who sits around and thinks about writing, but never does it. That would be the worst.

So I know this will likely sound hypocritical (a word I hate to spell), but if you’re speeding off ahead and like me you’re using NaNoWriMo as an excuse to jumpstart your writing, give some thought as to how you want to continue when all this is over. Make sure you aren’t setting yourself up for a let down in the future. Think about sustainability.

Oh and most important of all, even when the 30th of November has been and gone: keep writing!

WORDS FOR THE WORD GOD!!!

(Yeah that was all kinds of awful…)

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NaNoWriMo 2012: Wordhammer 40,000

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 2012: The Finale (& Words per Day) | The Darkest Blog

Leave a Reply

