NaNoWriMo 2012: 30,000 words and still on track!

It’s getting increasingly difficult to find images and/or phrases to annoy you all with every time I reach a goal. This one took some digging so I hope you will apprecia-

OH MY GOSH IT’S A TOBU-30000! Yeah, so it’s some obscure make of train from Japan, and I’ll fully admit that those are straws tightly grasped in my hands. Also a few hairs. Let’s move on and never discuss this travesty again.

Also… “on track”, get it? Because it’s a train… Yeah, forget it.

It’s day 10 of NaNoWriMo 2012 and unfortunately I’ve yet to write anything today. That’s fine though as I’m planning to make up my words tonight when things are a bit calmer around here. It’s also doubly fine because I’m making good progress over all. How do I know that? Well, maybe it’s because I’m sitting on:

30,224 words!

That’s 5,000 words over halfway to NaNo’s 50k goal, which is getting closer and closer with every passing day. It’s also almost halfway to my personal challenge of 80k words. It’s a weird watching one challenge draw near to its conclusion, while the other still has a way to go. It’s like I can see the silver medal dangling in front of me, but beyond it the gold just a sparkling shape in the distance.

Don’t get me wrong, 50k is still an admirable goal for anyone participating in this. It’s not easy. But I have the time, and years of demotivation to repent for. This is a lot more than NaNoWriMo for me. It’s a chance to prove to the world that I am a writer, and not, as someone once suggested to me, a person that just makes up stories in their head.

The drive from 20k to 30k has not been without its speed bumps. There were a few days recently where I really felt the strain. Those days I either got up later than planned and started the day wrong, wasted my allotted time, or panicked. I am thankful to have such understanding people around me to not only get out of the way when I need the privacy and to be free of distraction, but to also spur me on without needing to be prompted.

As an example, today a friend asked how my writing was going. He seemed genuinely excited to hear about my progress, even though we’d only spoken about it once before.  Yesterday another friend sent me a text wishing me luck with my writing. A simple note of encouragement, but it was nice to know somebody cared.

I’m certainly not used to this, or encouragement in any form. For the longest time I struggled with my writing, believing a lack of feedback and interest from family and friends was a sign that I was in fact not as good a writer as I thought. After all, if I can’t even get the people closest to me to read the stuff I write, how could I get a stranger to read my novel?

I should tell you now that thinking like this is stupid, and defeatist, and thankfully not where my head is at anymore. This year has been good to me. Not only am I now actively working on a novel (a goal I have had for many years), but I have also made considerable progress as a person. I have friends I meet regularly, a place to hang out and meet new people and try new things, and the confidence to do these things without needing someone to hold my hand.

However this challenge goes I am proud of myself for having the confidence to at least try, and the tenacity to stick it out as long as I have. I will keep going. I’m going to do this until it’s done. Because I’m not doing this for my friends or family.

I’m doing this for me.

I hope all of you feel the same about your writing, and that even when you feel worried that you might be falling behind or look to the faster writers with envious eyes, remember, they’re doing this for themselves. You’re doing this for you. It’s NOT a competition. It’s NOT a race.

It’s a challenge, and your only competitor is the part of you that’s holding you back

But that’s enough blathering from me. What are you doing?  You can’t sit around reading stupid, mushy posts like this one. You’ve got a novel to right, damn it!

Get to it!

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo 2012: 30,000 words and still on track!

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 2012: 50,000 Words Can’t Be Wrong | The Darkest Blog

  2. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 2012: The Finale (& Words per Day) | The Darkest Blog

Leave a Reply

