NaNoWriMo 2012: 20,000 Words Under the… Sea?

Please forgive the awful, awful title of this NaNoWriMo specific update. Instead take the time you would have wasted cringing to enjoy this vintage poster, stolen without remorse from Wikipedia. Ah the good old days…

Anyway, where was I? Oh yes, this whole writing thing. It’s definitely eating up a lot of my time, but in a very, very good way. According to my stats page on the NaNoWriMo website, my average word count per day is 3070. Times that by 30 and you get… well… 92100. I’m a little bit scared.

But back to the present and it’s time for me to announce that I am now officially over 20k words into my novel. In fact thus far we’re looking at exactly:

23,042 words!

I’m not boasting. Okay, maybe I am. Just a little. But if I am it’s not because I’m now so ridiculously far ahead of schedule, it’s because I feel really good about all this and I want to share that feeling with the world.

I’m definitely on track here and making good progress. If I keep this up 50k will not be an issue for me at all. My stats indicate I will reach that goal by November 16th, so keep your eyes peeled!

But you know what, denizens of this vast, sprawling, digital realm? I don’t think 50k is enough. No, not at all. I think my friend was right. I need to set my sights higher. So now I’m looking at the bigger picture… or in this case, the bigger novel.

With that in mind I have decided to extend my goal to 80,000 words. So yes, that’s 80k by the end of November. That’s my new goal.

This is a personal challenge, so it doesn’t reflect on whether or not I think 50,000 words is an adequate amount or not. I just want to push myself to do more, and I think at this point that it’s doable.

In order to motivate myself I’d decided to buy myself something special, something I’ve been wanting ever since I first saw pictures of it on the Privateer Press site. I am of course talking of this beautiful monster. But ONLY if I reach my goal by the end of November.

The deal goes something like this: for every 10k words I write, I put £10 aside. This practice continues until I reach 80k, and thus £80. Then it’s off to buy me a Mountain King!

In other news I’ve put two new widgets on the blog so you can track my word count as well as the % completion towards my 80k personal challenge. They’ll both update automatically every time I update my word count so if you’re interested in seeing how I’m getting along all you have to do is check the widget.

I’d like to finish this post by thanking everyone that has offered me support in this endeavour. It’s really awesome to know so many people are behind me on this. Finding the motivation to get things done has always been my downfall, and for that if nothing else, NaNoWriMo has offered a perfect solution. My only hope is that win or lose, I am able to carry this motivation on across the year and churn out more stories (and novels!) for my readers to enjoy.

Oh and to a certain author who will remain nameless: You are wrong. I can, and I will.

Good luck everyone!

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NaNoWriMo 2012: 20,000 Words Under the… Sea?

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 2012: The Finale (& Words per Day) | The Darkest Blog

Leave a Reply

