Super Crate Box

I’ve been keeping pretty busy lately what with this whole writing thing an’ all, but even so there are times, however brief between struggling to type out words in an all consuming typhoon of creation where I need to take a break and do something else. It’s during this time I usually turn to gaming.

Typically speaking I like my games to have a bit of story to them and substance. Having said that I’ve played a lot of the big games over the years (Half-Life, Halo, Fallout 3, Mass Effect, etc) and while I greatly enjoy these games, I find that they are usually a massive commitment.

Meet the Pyro – now in 2D!

Oh contrare, you say. With the option to save and load one can jump in and out of a game like that. You should… probably imagine I just clicked my fingers. I did just after typing this.

But you’re right, and I’m lazy. That’s the simple fact of it. I want to take my mind off things and I use arcade games like Audiosurf (which I have never once been tempted to uninstall) to fulfill this need to entertain without commitment.

More recently I was introduced to a game that is free on Steam called “Super Crate Box”. The game consists of about three rooms of which you can choose between, and that’s about it. You play as a little sprite jumping around shooting monsters and picking up crates. This is in fact the aim of the game.

15 is vastly more than I have ever achieved on this level.

The twist is that each crate contains a different weapon. Sometimes these weapons will have clear applications like the devestating machine gun or the bazooka. Other times you will need to be more tactical, like with the mines. Then there’s the weapons I dread receiving in a crate, the lasergun, the grenade launcher and the discgun, all of which are perfectly viable, but less predictable.

For example the discgun fires, well, a disc, that hits the wall, rebounds and bounces back. This can actually kill you as well if it touches you so you’ll want to avoid that. The more discs fired, the more you have to dodge. If you’re facing a wall when you fire one? Yeah, not a good idea.

As for the grenade launcher? Well, let’s just say it requires something I lack in great amounts. Hint: timing.

But yeah, overall it’s a fun little game, and when I’m done with my writing, sitting around wondering what to do between other activities or just bored it’s pretty fun, and can be quite addictive.

…In fact, I may go play it now.

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

