NaNoWriMo 2012: It’s over 9000!!!

Perhaps some more context is needed. How about this?

Nappa: Hey Vegeta, what does the scouter say about his word count?

Vegeta: It’s over 9000!!!!

Nappa: What 9000?!

<<Cue tumbleweed.>>

So yes, if you’re still reading after that terribly dated joke, my word count for the Protectorate novel (tentatively and perhaps optimistically titled “The Protectorate Novel 1” is now, quite officially over nine thousand words in length. It is in fact (as of typing this message):

10,898 words!

That’s just over one fifth of the way to the 50k goal posts. I’m well on my way to victory, but I won’t lie, it has been difficult.

The first day went fairly easy. All that entailed was writing out over 1667 words (the minimum required). By the end of my session I had exactly 2158 words and was feeling cautiously optimistic about what I’d written thus far and how things would likely go from there.

Day two lands, and the optimism is gone. It’s literally crawled into some tiny crevice and died. I’m battling distractions and my own niggling self doubt as I write something that wasn’t in my extensively detailed plan and uses far, far more exposition than could possibly be needed this early on. I’m creating an abomination, and I know it. There’s not a single line that I want to quote, and I’m seriously wondering if this whole thing is worth the effort.

Day three by contrast was a breath of fresh air. Moving off to something more interesting I’ve managed to deviate significantly from the plan, but at least I’m still headed in the right direction. Point A is still en route to point B, but I neglected to write points Aa, Ab, Ac, etc into my plan. This is fine though, because it means my story is evolving.

Now we’re onto day four and I’ve just finished for the day. I look at the word count and type it up on the NaNoWriMo website. Then I look at my stats, a handy tool the website uses to show your progression per day. I’ve actually been consecutively writing vastly more than I needed to. At this point I could miss a whole day and still make 50,000 words.

So I’m feeling a lot more confident about it now. Oh, there will be more days where I write absolute crap that in all likelihood I’ll end up discarding, but there’ll also be days like today where writing is a beautiful adventure and I get to look back at the world I’ve created in my mind and think that actually… it’s not so bad. Those are the days I’m looking forward to them. I’m assured they’ll be in the majority.

It was suggested to me by a close friend that maybe, given that 50,000 words is not (in spite of what NaNoWriMo may claim) appropriate novel length, I should perhaps look towards an even bigger goal. It’s tempting, and I know I could probably do it, but do I want to push myself that much? Do I have the time? Do I have the compulsion?

I think probably that I do.

We’ll see though, we will see. If I keep writing the way I am right now… well, 50,000 may seem like nothing at all.

Good luck to everyone taking part. I hope you have more good days than bad, and that you don’t let those you do have get you down. Writing isn’t always easy, and on a bad day it can be hard to justify taking the time out to write. Then there are the distractions, or the other things that you feel like you really ought to be doing. Of course, the worst distraction is always yourself. When you can learn to just go with the flow and shut out the noise you’ll be cruising through.

I’ll tell you if ever get to that point.

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo 2012: It’s over 9000!!!

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 2012: 20,000 Words Under the… Sea? | The Darkest Blog

  2. Pingback: NaNoWriMo 2012: The Finale (& Words per Day) | The Darkest Blog

Leave a Reply

