NaNoWriMo 2012: Day One!

So it’s finally upon us. National Novel Writing Month 2012 has officially started and in its wake the already buckling floodgates keeping the Protectorate at bay have been smashed open and a veritable flood of words is working its way towards the finish line. At least… I hope!

[The above link is some truly inspiring music that has done much to get the creative juices flowing.]

It’s only the first day though, so I shouldn’t really be patting myself on the back… which incidentally is quite uncomfortable… but I passed my target for the day very early on and I’m looking forward to breaking it once more tomorrow.

50,000 words in a month. That’s the aim. So far I’ve managed 2158 words. In the unlikely event that I manage 2158 words a day I will end the month with 14,740 more words than intended (64,740 overall). Not bad if I can make it.

As you can see I’m taking a break from writing to crunch numbers and generally reassure myself about the task ahead. One day this will be as normal as any of the other normal things I do in a day (it occurs to me now that these are too few to note).

Anyway, don’t worry, I have no plans to spam the blog with my word count every day, though I will be posting updates every time I hit a significant number of words.

I’ll leave this post with an extract from my work thus far:

“The sky was on fire. Molten flames scorched the clouds and rumbled on with furious abandon across the horizon. There was nothing in that infernal sea but the black specks of hovercraft and mighty warships hovering overhead like flies around the carcass of some dead beast, or descending at a slow and ominous pace.”

…Just 47,829 words to go! Woo!

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NaNoWriMo 2012: Day One!

  1. Pingback: Monthly Update: November 2012 | The Darkest Blog

Leave a Reply

