Preparing for NaNoWriMo 2012

November is almost upon us, and with it comes National Novel Writing Month 2012. If you’ve been wondering why I haven’t been quite so regular with my posting, it’s largely because of the extensive preparation I’ve been doing for this. I want to give it my all.

I’ve never really pushed myself to write to quite the extent this will demand. It’s going to be interesting, and I’m pretty excited about the prospect of getting my first real novel done… though there is no doubt in my mind that this will be a draft from which to work and nowhere near the final product.

It will be hard work, of that I have no doubt, but I’m confident. I’m not going to quit.

So, a bit of information about what I’ve been working on as preparation for this. I have several notepads worth of ideas and background text/quotes/random thoughts I may or may not even use, a short(ish) summary of the plot and a chapter-by-chapter synopsis.

I’ve also been drawing pictures of some of the characters and locations, which I may upload on here at some point. I’m not an amazing artist by any means, but sometimes it can help to add an individual feel to a character by drawing it and trying to add to it that way. I didn’t realise just how hairy the Battlemaster is until I drew him the other day.

Anyway, I’ll keep updating the blog with posts about my progress, but I’ll also try and keep up with my normal posts too which I realise I have failed to do of late. I hope you will go easy on me in this time and I’d greatly value the support of my readers!

A “like” is a visual reminder that I’m onto something good.

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in General, NaNoWriMo 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

