National Novel Writing Month 2012 (NaNoWriMo)

Previously on the Darkest Blog:

“I’m planning something pretty major with them for November, and if you follow writing news you may even be able to guess what that is…”

And now… the thrilling conclusion!

National Novel Writing Month. NaNoWriMo as some call it. Personally I prefer the longer name, sounds more formal and more prestigious. The shortened name sounds more like an anime convention.

I DIGRESS and so, back to today’s main headlines. Yes, to answer the question I know you are (probably not) currently asking yourselves. Yes, I am thinking of taking part in this writing… event… thing.

If you’ve been following my blog for a while you’ll likely know that I want to write a novel. I think I may have mentioned this a million times. I’ve had this story in mind for a while, and I want to commit it to paper. It sounds simple enough, but when you’re looking for a job, have a bunch of other commitments and an entire notepad full of cliched excuses for use at such a situation as this –wait, ignore that last one– finding the time and motivation can be difficult.

I want to make stuff, but it can be a gruelling task to just sit at a computer and create. Don’t get me wrong, I can bang out thousands of words at a time without pause, but I still find myself distracted easily, or worse put off entirely by an insatiable need to edit what I have written (often into oblivion) and the eventual self-loathing towards the sickly malformed scribblings that I have summoned into being.

Motivation has always been my problem, and I’ve had some pretty unhelpful advice from other writers, that I won’t name at this time, about how to get stuff done. More on that in a month’s time, I think. What I really think will help is having a goal to work towards, and NaNoWriMo (my fingers sear at typing that abomnible name) offers me that.

For those of you that have got this far without a clue as to what NaNoWriMo actually is, the idea is simple. Over the course of November you write a novel. The novel does not have to be edited or even complete, it does have to be original though (planning beforehand is allowed) and must be 50,000 words at least.

So why write 50,000 words if the novel isn’t even complete? Well, I’ll quote my friend Michal on this one:

“You’re like a sculptor, getting the huge rock in place and now you’ll just slowly chip away at it and turn it in into a beatiful statue.”

This is it exactly. This and the valuable and empowering knowledge that if you have done it this once, you can do it again. Perhaps you can even do it whenever you like. Come the start of next year you can start to whittle away to carve that chunk into something beautiful. That for me, is the purpose of this exercise.

So come November, I will participating in NaNoWriMo. My blog posts may suffer because of this, but to make up for this I will post regular updates to annoy all my readers no end.

On closing I think I should add these facts about the novel I’ll be writing:

  • It’s about the Protectorate.
  • Nurielle will be in it.
  • As will other prefects.
  • It has a name… but I’m still not going to tell you what it is.

Not yet anyway.

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in Fiction, NaNoWriMo 2012, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

