It’s the end of the League as we know it… and I feel fine?

So the Warmachine league has drawn to its conclusion, at least so far as I am concerned. All my matches are played. I don’t expect to win anything, I’m new to the game, but I painted my army last minute and at least got some points for that… and I got a painted army. So that’s never a bad thing!

Overall I’d say it was a lot of fun. It’s been great going to Tabletop Nation every wednesday and playing against someone new each time. I’ve played with Madrak, and learnt that there are warlocks other than Doomshaper that are worthy of my time. I’ve used new warbeasts (like the Bouncer) and old ones (like the Impaler) in combos I never really considered before. Fair to say it’s given me a lot to think about.

Now onto the not-so-good. Every so often you will come across a player that plays the tournament (or league in this case) rather than playing the game itself. You see this in a lot of things. One example I could give is that of the badminton players disqualified during the 2012 Olympics for deliberately throwing matches in the hopes of getting a more favourable draw.

This lack of gamesmanship really cheapens the experience for everyone. It might not be against the rules in a technical sense, but it shows a lack of respect for the other players and for the game itself.

Sad to say that there is an individual within the league that has been employing such tactics. Worse still they look set to win, though I have heard that the organisers are reviewing the case. Either way, to see it in play in a friendly journeyman league is depressing. I hope an agreeable outcome is achieved, and that the overall experience will not be tarnished by one person’s greed and selfishness.

Anyway, I’m sorry for the rant. These kind of people really get my ire up.

I never really played to win, I just played to have fun, and up until the very end I was not lacking for it. Supposedly there’ll be a new league in the near-ish future, but we won’t be able to use the same armies again. Seems like this might be an opportunity to break out that Menoth battle box I’ve had sitting around!

In other news my Chaos Space Marines codex came today, so I’m going to be going over that with a fine tooth comb… or okay, I’m not, someone who actually understands the game will be, but I’ll be smiling and nodding.

It really is the least I can do.

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in Hordes, Wargaming and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

