How’s that book of yours going?

Yeah it’s going all right thanks. You know. Thanks for asking.

I really need to get some more fiction all up in this blog, but I’ve been so busy. So busy on that novel I’m writing. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned that enough yet. Every time I sit down and I’m thinking “Today, today I’m going to write some awesome stuff for the blog” and somehow (sorcery is suspected) the word file that opens up isn’t a blank canvas at all, but a wailing abyss that drives me to write EXCLUSIVELY about this whole novel thing. It’s pretty crazy. I’m very concerned.

This is good though. It’s very good in fact. I want to keep myself motivated, and the best way to do that is to keep telling myself how exciting this novel is, and I think it is… I think you’ll think it is too, but I have to write the damned thing first, as I’ve probably already said far too many times. That’s not the easiest thing in the world, especially not for a first timer. It feels like scaling a mountain of words using only your keyboard or other writing implement. Every so often you dig into a piece of unstable rock and words tumble down before you, lost forever in the gaping chasm. Doubt is chief amongst these obstacles. Doubt leads to demotivation, demotivation leads to procrastination, and procrastination leads to not getting a novel written… and that would just plain suck.

But you guys deserve something. I’ve been an improper host here and I’ve not given you anything when I said fervently that I would. I’m working on it though. Stick with me on this.

It’s going to be very cool.

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

