Forge speed ahead!

First off, I apologise for the quality of these photos. It’s come to my notice recently that my camera is sometimes pretty damned awful.

I’ve been having a lot of fun of late gluing together my Forge Fathers army ready for use in the (I hope) not too distant future. I was getting pretty excited about this because, as my enthusiastic posts about the so-called space dwarves may show, I have really fallen for their unique and funky appearance. I love the models and they were a blast to put together. Sadly I’m not sure when I’ll actually get to use them, as I don’t actually know anyone that shares my interest in Warpath, but with the opening of Tabletop Nation I am hopeful I’ll find someone. There’s got to be someone, right?

Hotblack Desiato would be so proud, if he wasn’t spending this year emotionless. For tax reasons.

Anyway, over the last week or so I’ve been cutting, gluing and spraying to get my Forge Fathers battle-ready. I started with the Stormrage Veterans, largely because I just love the way their commander looks with his bearded armour and heat-hammer. That is easily my favourite mini.

That hammer is also a flamethrower. Sort of. I don’t know. It just really, really hurts and is super hot.

Though I’ve had a plastic trollblood blitzer in my midst for quite some time (more on that later), these were the first plastic models I’d ever actually had to cut out and glue. Naturally this led me to feel a bit concerned, plastic being considerably more brittle than metal. I envisioned myself chopping off limbs or joints and then realising too late the horrors I had unleashed upon my unsuspecting minis.

Fortunately, the process turned out to be pretty easy and all of them got glued together in one go. Got to say I had a bit of help, but I’m proud of them nonetheless. The cannon for example was not put together by me, and one piece of it proved quite irritating.

Standing in front of a cannon was a super smart idea. Emphasis on ‘was’.

Next came the Steel Warriors, a more trying venture as there were far more fiddly bits to put together. There’s one piece in particular I never used on any of my minis. I’m sure that’ll bite me in the backside one day, but for now, I remain quite pleased with how they turned out.

They’re like dinky little Space Marines. Maybe I shouldn’t have said that.

Next step: painting! Only thing holding that up is the need to get my trollbloods painted and ready for a tournament that is not so far away.

Oh and because I mentioned it earlier, here’s what I’ve done with the blitzer. Apologies again for the bad photos.

Before and after gone horribly, horribly wrong.

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in Wargaming, Warpath and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

