Bastion: A Charming Indie Adventure!

Not a great deal to say today, and that seems to be becoming a ‘thing’ with my monday gaming posts. I apologise for that. I’ll try to come up with something a bit more interesting by next week though. Should have another “I Swore I’d Never Play” or two ready for then.

At the behest of Perun the thunder god, I’ve been playing a lot of Bastion, which was always advertised to me as an amazing game with an amazing story. It is by the way, there’s no deception going on here, it genuinely is a very nicely created game with a story you will enjoy. Gameplay is simplistic and a lot of the conventional RPG threads have been cut leaving it an enjoyable albeit short adventure.

As is expected of most RPGs choice does play a part in Bastion, but only really in regards to your ending. You can however choose how you want to play the game (not an exclusively RPG quality, but a welcome one at the very least). There’s also an impressive array of fun weaponry, and a challenge for each one that extends the game considerably. Achievements in the game are relatively simple too, but enjoyable all the same.

What I found particularly interesting, amazing narrative style aside, was the fact that you are in charge of difficulty, and I don’t mean just picking from Easy, Normal and Hard (which you don’t do). What I mean is that you are actually able to decide how your enemies will be made more difficult to kill, and doing so will reward you with increased rewards, particularly in the field of shards (money) and XP.

If I had to recommend this game for the narrative alone, I would. There are cliches, as there almost always are in such games, but the style and the soundtrack (I dearly wish I could link you tracks from it without spoiling the story) make it a joy to play.

But enough from me… if you haven’t already, check it out! If you have, tell me what you thought of it. I’d love to hear what other people thought of it.

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bastion: A Charming Indie Adventure!

Leave a Reply

