Tabletop Nation Open Day

You may recall a while back I wrote a post about Tabletop Nation, a new place that I can now confirm will be in Hockley, Essex, dedicated to offering a space for tabletop games such as Kings of War, Warhammer, Warmachine, etc. What’s doubly great about Tabletop Nation is that it is right next to Wayland Games, the UK’s (if not Europe’s) leading stockist of all things tabletop. So essentially you could buy your army from the shop, and hell you could buy the glue too, sit down and put it together and then go and play with it for free on one of the readily available tables. I wouldn’t recommend that though, it might take you a while!

ANYHOO, Tabletop Nation had an open day on Saturday 11th of August where you could go and check out the premises, play a few games on the tables already open to the public, and even buy some stuff from what they were calling their “pop-up store”. Naturally intrigued by this I “popped” along (yeah, I know, I went there… also literally… oh god). I should point out that at this point it doesn’t actually look much like the videos, but after poking my nose around and talking to a few of the staff I was informed that this would all be underway later and that for the time being people are free to use the tables they currently have. That seems fair enough to me, but I do look forward to the day it’s completed. It’s off to a great start.

Some plastic glue, clippers, Swamp Troll, Bouncer Troll and… Forge Father paints? Hmm.

Unfortunately for me I was a bit pressed for time, and with my family in tow I could scarcely sit down to a game, though I have to admit the tables looked very inviting and even at this early stage the atmosphere was peaceful and friendly. Naturally I had to stop by this so called “pop-up store” and pick up a few things. It was too good an opportunity to miss, and I was quickly informed that after spending £20 I would receive a promotional goody bag filled with… well… goodies.

You receive [Bag of Stuff].

My assumption at the time was that said goodies would be in the shape of glue or tape measures… mayaps even laniards. Cheap things they had in abundance and likely could afford to part with. I was excited, but I didn’t expect what I got. I mean… who expects THAT MUCH?

Shortly after receiving this bounteous bag we retreated to the car to see just what loot I had received. Nothing prepared me for that moment. It was as if the bag, possessed perhaps by some eldritch power seemed ever to fill as I began to empty it. I swear I thought I had emptied that dread sack on at least three occassions only to discover that I was misled and that there was more to discover from within its murky depths. Also, yes, there was a laniard.

Top row (Left to right): Dystopian Wars rulebook, laser pointer, Flames of War rulebook, unidentified badge, random warlord games sprues.
Second row: More unidentified sprues, some dude chopping up a tree, Hordes Minions miniature, LANIARD!!!, Warpath Marauder sprue, Kings of War Undead sprue, random tank things!

As you can see from the image there was a LOT of stuff, and it’s all pretty varied. There were sprues, rule books, metal models and a strange badge that I cannot for the life of me identify. There was even a laz0r pointer, which is super awesome. All I need now is a cat.

I got so much stuff I even managed to forget to put this Kings of War manual with them! Yeah… that’s my excuse.

So yeah, if Tabletop Nation wanted to win me over, and trust me when I say they really did not need to. They would have very little difficulty in doing so. I don’t think I’ve ever been given that much free stuff (okay, I say free but in return for a £20 purchase, I say that’s an extraordinary deal!) ever. EVER! Needless to say I was very impressed, and eagerly look forward to playing at Tabletop Nation sometime in the not-so-distant future!

Oh, and what’s this?

OMGWTFBBQ SPOILERS!!!!

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in Tabletop Nation, Wargaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

