Arkham City is a great game and that’s really all you need to know!

So you know what’s a good game? Arkham City.

Well duh, you say. Batman is an awesome franchise and with a massively successful predecessor under their utility belt, Rocksteady was pretty much destined to make this a high gliding success, right? Surely it goes without saying.

But that’s just it. It doesn’t, and it really needs to. I’ve seen a lot of mediocre games get a lot of good press and reviews. Call of Duty games are pretty much an instant hit, even if they are more-of-the-same. Games like Dragon Age 2, or The Old Republic are heiled, sorry hailed, as masterpieces and their obvious flaws are generally overlooked. Why aren’t we calling people out on this? Why aren’t we demanding more and celebrating the genuinely amazing?

I know for a fact that die-hard fans will demand more. They always do, and hell, I do too. I’m enough of a bastard to claim that Half Life 1 is superior to Half Life 2, and then tell you how the gravity gun has ruined the series and how the Portal franchise destroyed my immersion. I don’t actually believe these things, but I could say them. I could say them right n-||

||-ow, but I won’t because… wow that was weird. Did my words just…? No, forget it, let’s just move on. What I’m saying is that the game isn’t untouchable. Fan reactions to Gearbox’s Opposing Forces for example has caused a bit of a rift between those who love and hate Adrian Shepherd. But that’s fair really. It’s fair to show the positive and the negative. No game is perfect.

Arkham City, good game. It’s a game where you fly around a city, find green ?s, interact with an unruly host of unscrupulous (and unwashed) individuals (mostly by punching them), oh yeah and there’s some aerodynamically challenging Splinter Cell action to boot. It follows its predecessors formula very closely, and I have to say that there aren’t any real noticeable improvements, but on the other hand I never really complained about them in Arkham Asylum, so… button mash me a grate and call me Riddler.

What’s really grate… great… about Arkham City though is that it’s a love affair of a game. You know that it was made with the utmost care and attention to detail. You know that someone cared more about the franchise and making Batman fun than they did about those ever-elusive dollar signs… *cough* EA *cough*. You can almost ignore the similarities between City and Asylum because it’s like that rare occassion where Hollywood makes a sequel to a movie that actually is on par with the original. It’s great to go through the adventure again, and for some bizarre reason it still feels fresh.

So thank you, Rocksteady. I have enjoyed your game greatly and I look forward to playing Harley Quinn’s Revenge.

I hope that more games are made like this, and no, I don’t mean Arkham Asylum clones, I mean games made with love.

Whatever, man, this rant is so over!

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

