Steam Sales are Evil

They are. Let’s face it. Like the coming of some ancient villain, reborn anew in flesh more daemonic than ever before, the Steam Sales are preceded by the sound of a million gamers mourning the future loss of all their worldly money…. and then, like mighty Cthulhu rising from the ocean depths, they are upon us, and woe betide any who avoids them, for a life of regret follows… at least, until Nyarlathotep hops in on the Christmas bandwagon.

These Lovecraftian metaphors doing anything for you? How about some Game of Thrones?

I love me some Steam, that’s a for certain. That’s a thing that goes without saying, but I said it anyway. Steam is very cool. There’s nothing quite like it, and they do grand things over and over again. Every company has their dark periods, and controversial moments, but Valve seems largely to have avoided these. I don’t care that TF2 is Free to Play now, and I certainly never complained about the hats. Oh so many hats.

Steam sales however, the selling of games at a price that DEMANDS I buy them. That is the act of an amoral elder being. I just wish I’d thought of it first.

This year I bought: Alan Wake, Bastion & Deus Ex: Human Revolution.

I’m saving money because I’m still what one might consider unemployed. On account of the lack of a job or income of any sort.

Still, Steam squeezed the stone. They squeezed it… and they found blood.

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

