Tabletop Nation & A Tournament at the Club

If I recall my post last week I said that there was a lot of new stuff going down, and that is certainly true. In fact, so true is it that I fear I will likely be rushing through it with my post. I’ll do my best though, but bare with me on this. Some of this is very exciting stuff.

Okay, so first things first. When I buy my models I usually get them from Wayland Games. These guys are the number one supplier of wargaming stuff in all of western europe, supposedly… and they’re now very conveniently situated a mere train stop from me. This is very good for me understandably, but after checking their website recently I’ve found out that there’s also something called Tabletop Nation being built in a specific area in Essex, with easy access to London (if I had to hazard a guess, I’d say the same place as Wayland). From my understanding Tabletop Nation is one big social area for us wargamers to go and… well… wage war across tables. There’s also a bar, so that’s pretty neat.

I’m very excited about this. It’s great to feel included in something and actually have a place to hang out and meet new people. As someone who isn’t really interested in your typical social activities, I’m sure I’m going to have a blast there. The website has somes details on it, and there’s even a video (see above). I can’t really say much more other than that I really hope my theory is correct and that it is where I think it will be. You can bet I’ll be spending a lot of time there if so.

So that other thing… Oh yes, the tournament.

On sunday the gaming club I roll with (roll with… does that work? roll dices with? too nerdy?) held a Warmahordes Tournament (Warmachine + Hordes) and I was able to take part. Keep in mind I’m still pretty fresh to this wargaming thing. Many if not all of my opponents were Warhammer veterans, with a greater idea of what they were doing than me. This was also my first tournament with the club, so that was a lot of fun. I managed to get to joint third which I have to say I was quite pleased with.

My warlocks of choice were Madrak Ironhide, the starter box version and normal Hoarluk Doomshaper. I’m not really very practised with Ironhide, so that game went a bit farcical at times, but the next two matches I used Doomshaper, and I was back in the zone. I feel like I’ve come a long way since February when I was first introduced to the game.

The few trolls I’ve got around to painting… at least they’re finished… mostly…

Still need to paint my trolls though. At the moment they’re only base-coated black.

They look so… naked.

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in Hordes, Tabletop Nation, Wargaming, Warmachine and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tabletop Nation & A Tournament at the Club

  1. Pingback: Tabletop Nation Open Day « The Darkest Blog

Leave a Reply

