Meet the Forge Fathers

“From out of the core worlds, the Forge Fathers came, resplendant in armour all but impenetrable to conventional weaponry. Though short in stature, their strength and resilence more than makes up for it. Pray not to incur the wrath of these ancient people, for their grudges are timeless, and their lust for vengeance beyond quenching. Their’s is the gift of invention, and the strength of the forge. In peace times they are traders. In war times they are destroyers.” – A little something I made up.

Attention duelists! My beard has armour!

I love these guys. They’re awesome. They’re like Space Dwarves! Well, okay they are Space Dwarves… and oddly enough I never thought that would ever appeal to me… but just look at them. They have armour for their beards. For their beards!

All right, all right, weird phase over. The Forge Fathers are a faction in the Mantic Games sci-fi wargame Warpath (that was painful). It’s a fairly simple game in the same vein as Warhammer 40,000. Those with a cynical eye may see the similarities between the Forge Fathers and another army of power-armoured warriors. In fact if you visit the Warpath website you’ll be greeted by other familiar faces. If you’re feeling a bit iffy about it, worry not, I used to be like you!… but then I took a huscarl to the knee.

Two pistols, a hammer… and a cigar?

Fact is, I’ve fallen in love with these little guys. A good friend of mine bought me the starter box for Warpath (see image above), which features a whole bunch of Forge Fathers as well as Marauders, and though I have yet to glue them together, I can’t stop imagining how awesome it will be to have them all painted and ready to field. I’ve never really had this feeling about a wargame before. Not even with Hordes, though I love my trollbloods dearly. I just REALLY like how this army looks, and I love the backstory Mantic Games have given them.

From my understanding, Mantic Games is a company that in stark defiance of leading competitor Games Workshop, is producing easily affordable wargaming awesomeness. They’re a brilliant company, and they definitely deserve to do well. What’s even better about them is the fact that they give out their rules for free on their website and have no qualms about you using their models in your Warhammer games, or visa versa. They’re a very laid back bunch and it’s so refeshing.

I was lucky enough to meet a few representatives by chance at Salute 2012 (a gaming convention held yearly in London) and they introduced me to the game. I’ll admit, I was crushed mercilessly by the Marauders, but that only helped solidify my love of the Forge Fathers. They were definitely the underdog, but I do so love a challenge. I think there’s actually a picture of me failing miserably at Warpath on their facebook page, but I’ll never tell you where.

There’s a lot going on for me in wargaming news, but it’ll have to wait for now. In mean time, if you’re into the hobby and want a cheap alternative to Warhammer, check out their website.

Warpath is a game I desperately need to get into, and trust me, when I do, I’ll be posting about it all the time. You’ll be bored stiff. Space Dwarves, people! Dwarves in SPAAAAACE!!!!

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in Wargaming, Warpath and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

