Challenge Accepted: My Pledge to Write More!

This is going to be a relatively short post, and it’s probably going to come across as very strange and maybe even a little incoherent. Today I made some progress on the road to actually being a writer as opposed to being someone who writes. There’s a difference, and it’s a pretty major one too. I’ll tell you about it some day, some day soon I hope, but for now you’ll have to trust me on this.

Right now, at this moment, I am experiencing the afterglow of having submitted via email, my writing sample to the good folks at Black Library. For those of you who don’t have a clue what any of that means, Black Library is a part of Games Workshop which in turn is responsible for the popular tabletop games Warhammer and Warhammer 40,000. Black Library are the guys who publish the books set in those universes. If you’ve ever seen a Warhammer book, or heard someone talk about it, those guys published it.

Now every year Black Library, like many busy publishers, has an open submission period wherein you can send your novel ideas (Although from 2013 onwards they will no longer be accepting novel submissions!), a sample of your writing for a potential short story, or miscellaneous other stuff that you can find out about HERE.

I’ve wanted to submit my ideas to them for quite a while, but I’ve never worked up the courage. I’ve never found the time to write out my ideas in the form of a story, or something has come up and oh! where has the time gone? That’s been my problem for a very long time, and damn it all but it’s going to change.

I want to write stuff. Professionally I mean. I want to BE a writer. And the moment I hit that submit button, I knew I was making the transition from being someone who writes stuff, to someone who at the very least aspires to being a writer. It’s going to be tough to keep up with this, but I’m going to do it. I need to write. I need to write every day. I’m going to enter competitions, write crazy shit that makes no sense at all, and I’m going to improve each and every time.

That’s my pledge to write more, and I’m sticking to it.

Edit – It occurs to me now that my initial statement that this would be a short post has proven false. Alas!

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

