Hordes: A Blue Victory for the Trollbloods

So this is something else I’m into: Warmachine/Hordes. It’s a bit like Warhammer, or if you’re not too familiar with that, other conventional table based war games. Essentially, at its core, you move your pieces, you roll dice to work out damage, and you can also do funky spells and abilities that drench the table in imaginary blood and spill non-existant intenstines and/or vital organs. It’s great fun!

Having said that, I’m still relatively new to the world of wargaming. I only started playing early this year, but I am now an avid player of the Trollbloods faction.

My 25 Point Army

From left to right: A unit of Runeshapers, Janissa Stonetide, Mulg the Ancient, Hoarluk Doomshaper, Dire Troll Mauler and Troll Axer

The Trollbloods are, as the name suggests, an army of trolls and trollkin (they’re sort of like an evolutionary off-split, like humanity from our ape brethren). These Trollbloods have banded together for survival, fighting to claim land for their endangered race, and in the case of my favourite warlock, Hoarluk Doomshaper, take merciless revenge on all those who betrayed them… namely, the humans.

Doomshaper is my hero of choice. He’s a gnarled and grumpy trollkin, and a powerhouse of arcane knowledge and beast lore. Don’t let his wizened appearance fool you, he is one devious fellow, and he brings to the battlefield a plethora of abilities that, if played right, can be a complete nightmare for your opponents. He also tends to work best with an army of big scary beasties, which is fine by me. That’s just the way I like it!

Mulg, Doomshaper and a Dire Troll Mauler

Shaping some doom, Trollbloods style!

I won’t claim to be able to play him quite as well as his reputation deserves. I’m getting better with him, but I’m always going to be facing off against more experienced players, most of whom aren’t just veterans of Warmachine, but of Warhammer and other wargames. I’m fighting people who know how to use every aspect of the game to their advantage, so when I sneak in a win, no matter how rare that win may be, I’m happy. Losing is how you learn, but a win can definitely boost your confidence.

Tonight was pretty typical of my matches in that it was Mulg, Doomshaper’s BFF, a massive hulking mountain with legs, that saved the day. Mulg has a lot of health, and with a pretty high armour rating he’s quite difficult to dent, but like any chess piece, he’s not indestructible. I got very lucky with him today and he managed to plow through my enemies infantry, squishing them one by one. I actually made a near-fatal error with him early on, which could have cost me the match, but in spite of that he came up on top. The last turn of the game came down to positioning, and unfortunately for my opponent, Mulg was very well positioned to turned his warcaster (the Warmachine’s version of a warlock) into a very squishy mess.

Mulg and his trusty rune club

Baseball anyone?

It took only one hit for Mulg to kill his warcaster. That club he’s holding is not for show. It hurts. It hurts a whole lot, and it just so happens it won me the game today!

About A. R. Whitehead

I'm an aspiring author, with a degree in English and Creative Writing. I love books, comics, games and film. My favourite genres are Science Fiction and Fantasy.
This entry was posted in Hordes, Wargaming and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

